Military Museum of Menorca

The museum occupies part of the old Cala Corb barracks, in the central square of Es Castell. It was built by the British in 1771 to plans drawn up by the British Engineers Corps Colonel, Patrick Mackellar. It later housed the Artillery Academy (1811) and in the 20th century it was home to the Costa de Menorca Artillery Regiment. There are nineteen permanent exhibition rooms where you can trace the development of Menorca’s history from prehistoric times right through until the 20th century, including all the intervening periods and foreign occupations.


A total of 15 rooms focus on the 18th century, with a fascinating section on the Fortress of La Mola, a remarkable collection of original plans and another of engineering tools. There is also a magnificent collection of old cannons and a complete set of scale models of Menorca’s fortifications.

More information:

Location: Explanada Square
Town: Es Castell
Owned by: Consorcio del Museo Militar de Menorca y Patrimonio Histórico Militar
Managed by: Consorcio del Museo Militar de Menorca y Patrimonio Histórico Militar
Telephone: 971 362100
Website: www.museomilitarmenorca.com
Parking:
Hours: OPEN TO VISITORS

 
Related images