Marlborough Fort

The fort stands on the southern side of the entrance to Maó harbour, in the cove Cala de Sant Esteve, and was built by the British between 1720 and 1726. It owes its name to Sir John Churchill, Duke of Marlborough, the most prominent British General of the time. Together with Sant Felip Castle and the Stuart Tower, or En Penjat Tower, its role was to protect the entrance to the port of Maó. In 1782 the fort was partially destroyed by the Spanish and had to be rebuilt, with a few modifications, during the last period of British rule (1798-1802).

It is a small fort, with a heptagonal central enclosure that was once equipped with several artillery guns for defending against possible enemy attack. The fort was built over a large trench with a counterscarp gallery excavated out of the bedrock. The upper level provides exceptional views over the historic area of Maó harbour, undoubtedly one of the most coveted in the western Mediterranean by foreign powers.

Nowadays, visitors can experience a re-enactment to take them back to the time when Fort Marlborough was under siege and to describe the history of both Menorca and Europe throughout the upheavals of the 18th century. It includes uniformed soldiers and special technological effects.


Timetable Prices

More information:
Location: Cove Cala de Sant Esteve
Town: Es Castell
Owned by: Consell Insular de Menorca (Government of Menorca)
Managed by: Fundació Foment del Turisme de Menorca
Telephone: +34 971 157 800

Related images